I love these little boots...=)

Here's a few scenes from our backyard these days....though I'm saving the vegetable garden patch for later....it's almost complete!
If you're not into plants, then you might just want to browse the pictures and wait for a more interesting blog to show up....=)
I guess the biggest point I want to share about gardening is that you can glean so much from other fellow gardeners....most people have at least a few plants they wouldn't mind dividing/sharing with you. The majority of my garden was grown out of the generosity of others! RIght now I've got shasta daises, candytuft, sweet woodruff, and baby iris to share if anyone is interested!

Most of the plants you see are perennials that if I don't let them freeze, I can hold them over for next year.  The others I pulled from other spots in the garden or found in the 1/2 off section of Lowe's.  Did you know about that? They have a section for less than perfect flowers...most of the time there are a little sad looking, need some dead-heading, and good soak in water and they'll look just fine. Sometimes you can find great stuff back there.


This planter was a hand-me-down from the in-laws several years ago....
In the back are some grasses transplanted from the front yard, mini-iris's from Elsa, creeping Jenny from Mom-in-law, and this variegated light green plant that I found in the 'bargain bin'! Eight little starts for a $1! You'll see this a lot....

I found this Japanese Maple years ago at Wal-mart when it was just a tiny thing....now it looks so much better more grown up! In the little pot within the pot is a different tiny little Japanese maple gleaned from a patch of weeds alongside the road. We'll see if it survives the summer....
The colorful one in the front is called 'Nandina' or 'Heavenly Bamboo' (not really bamboo)..It is a perennial favorite of mine.

Havilah's grapevine starts....THANK YOU!

This weeping cherry was a housewarming gift from my mom and dad when we first moved in.....It has issues with bugs right now....but it's also a favorite of mine.

Here's just a hodge-podge of more...if you care what something is you can ask!

12/28/2008 03:21:43 am

Those plants looks lovely. I like the Japanese Maple, it looks great with the shoe rack.

Reply
11/26/2010 10:28:40 am

This is a responsibility of love and protection!

Reply



Leave a Reply.