Picture
Wow, it's been a while! I guess since the little one became mobile life has picked up speed! Here's a few photos to catch you all up!

This was our Christmas photo taken in front of our neighbor's tree...I think they could see us while our friend was taking our photo...=)  If you'd like a tangible photo for your home fridge, e-mail me with your address and I can send one out to you! =)

Picture
Our three kids...we definitely fill up the backseat of the Suby! I'll think we're going to go for one more...but that's no announcement folks! =) Does that mean a minivan is on the horizon???? I never thought I'd live to see the day I'd admit to that...=)
Picture
Picture
Little "Lijah Bear", as we affectionately call him, is now walking, waving, and working his charm on all he meets. He is an easy smile and loves to be tickled...he also likes to be part of the action and will scurry to the part of the house where he hears the most noise. As number 3 he is frequently getting tackled,  dragged, picked up, squished, and moved by brother and sister, which we hope is contributing to his ability to be flexible. =)
Picture
Picture
"Gracie Boo" or "Gray" gets all sorts of nicknames, just like the rest of the Rollins family...she is talking up a storm but we still have to ask her to repeat herself so we can catch certain words. This is such a cute language phase!! She is as girlie as her mama is not...but simply entertained with the company of her brothers and the few toys we own that are not cars and trucks or sticks. Her virgin hair has never been cut, though she doesn't have much patience for mama to brush it...we'll see how much longer we can hold out. Our bundle of energy of no fear, is still a "get-in-ta", but no longer dipping into the toilet...Praise the Lord!!!
Picture
Picture
Josiah, our dear Choleric firstborn...silly, creative, attention-seeker, challenge, responsible...he is such a Daddy's boy! Loves to work and play outside, be independent, help out around the house and comes up with the greatest costumes...always posing the question "What do I look like?"  This year we had lots of struggles with some Asthma attacks and found out he is severely allergic to dust mites. We've made some lifestyle changes and things are under control which has eased our minds quite a bit. Mama is getting geared up to try some homeschooling in the fall....extremely intimidated, but determined to give it a fair go.
Picture
Brent was laid off from work at the beginning of the month and has managed to stay busy with home repair projects, helping friends with home improvement projects, leading a community group that meets in our home, playing with the kids (he's a super dad!!), sharpening his cooking and baking skills, making plans towards his next career/schooling move, planning fly-fishing excursions (though he hasn't been fishing in at least 6 months!), and taking our family on adventures. Don't worry...he's not getting too comfortable! =)
Picture
Then there's me...learning how to manage a household of 5 (+ 1 new roommate)...to not compare myself to others, to persevere in training up my children...even though sometimes I'm so discouraged, that I need to schedule in play time with my kids and it's OK to let the dishes sit...these are precious and short days, to open open my home in hospitality even though it may not be perfectly tidy, that it is not by MY might nor by My power that I am enabled to do everything well that I am charged to do, that I can be a runner (when my knee isn't disabling me), though I fight for every step, that we NEED community...to be challenged, vulnerable, to bless each other, to learn from each other, serve each other, sacrifice for each other, comfort, encourage...that I need to BE that whether or not I receive that...though we do abundantly!, and that I am exactly where I want to be in life...so be content with today whatever it brings...I will mis it when it's
Cass
1/27/2010 05:43:04 am

Wow, that was a long break indeed!! Is that REALLY what happens with a third child??! ... a complete break from the online world?? ... nnnnnnooooooo. :)

Glad you're back to blogging, glad you're back to telling us about your kids, glad you're back! You were missed!!

(I'd like a 'real' family photo please ....!)

Reply
1/27/2010 11:19:39 am

HI!!!!!!!
So good to hear from you!!!
Your kiddos are all way too big and way too adorable! I love it!
Great pic of you too!
Love to you,
tarena
ps...you'll do GREAT at homeschooling! It actually helps our day to go more smoothly with the added structure and something for the older kids to be interested in (besides their important job of driving mama crazy, of course!)

Reply
1/27/2010 11:46:37 pm

Your family is beautiful. :) I'm glad to see Elijah is liking his blanket, too.

You can totally homeschool...if you'd like to talk to someone who's done it and survived, I'm sure my mom wouldn't mind chatting with you. Just let me know. :)

Reply
Tenisha
2/23/2010 02:15:33 pm

Hey! Love your update with all the pictures! Looks like you guys are busy but happy and having fun! Send us a family pic! I don't have one of you all on our fridge yet! Josiah's outfits crack me up! He just thinks these combinations up? What a fun kid! Well, hope to hear more from you guys sooner than later...:O) Love you!

Reply
2/25/2010 11:35:53 am

Good to see you on here again! Glad you took a break too....very necessary at times :-)! Gabe and I are allergic to dust mites too...actually to their feces, so some Dr. told me when i was a kid...anyway, glad you figured it out!! Sorry about Brent being laid off. Elijah is looking so cute! Very nice and convicting summary of what you were up to !:)

Reply



Leave a Reply.