This is the yummy soup recipe I promised a while back. It is definitely fit for company...served with warm corn tortillas or bread....and a nice green salad!
I love making soup and the soup season is definitely here!
Here it is, taken from Firehouse Foods (thanks, Tenisha and Jason!)...=)


2 TBS vegetable oil
2 1/2 lbs beef chuck steak, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
1 medium white onion
3 cloves garlic minced
1 can (14 1/2 oz.) diced tomatoes
6 cups beef broth (I used Better than Bouillon and water)
1 bay leaf
1 TBS dried Mexican oregano
1 lb red potatoes, diced
1 carrot, peeled and diced
2 ears corn, shucked and cut into 1 in. thick rounds (I used frozen corn!)
1 zucchini, cut into matchsticks, 1 in. long (I omitted this..my hubby's not a fan)
1/2 head green cabbage, cored, thinly sliced
1/4 cup chopped cilantro ( I used a bit more, and didn't really measure)
Salt and pepper to taste
You could add come white beans to it too...especially if you omitted the meat.
It also suggests serving it with raw diced onion, cilantro sprigs, lime wedges, and fresh, warm tortillas.

Heat the oil in a large, heavy pot over medium-high heat; add the meat and brown on all sides, about 5 minutes. Add the onion and garlic and cook for 3 minutes. Add the tomatoes, broth, bay leaf, and oregano. Bring to a boil and reduce the heat to a simmer.  Cook for 1 1/2 hours, partially covered.

Stir in the potatoes, carrot and corn; continue to cook for 30 minutes. Add the zucchini, cabbage, and cilantro; cook for 15 minutes. Discard the bay leaf and season to taste with sal and pepper.  Ladle the soup into warm bowls and pass the cilantro, lime wedges, and tortillas at the table.

Tenisha
10/24/2008 12:38:52 pm

yeah...we'll definitely make that one again!

Reply
Janel Mattix
10/28/2008 06:20:59 am

Looks awesome.... I'll have to try it one of this days!

Reply
Christa
10/29/2008 06:01:59 pm

This looks great! This inspires me to start making some soup, it seems definetley the time to start cooking warm food like this. Anthony still doesn't seem too excited about the raw food idea, so I am beginning to think I will just have to give in or at least sacrifice and meet some where in the middle. Also, I think I should apalogise for the extreme nature of what I wrote regarding the vaccines. I hope I have not offended you or anyone else. I just seem to be a little bit overlly opinionated/passionate about some issues. Either way, love you lots! You seem like such a good cook.

Reply
tarena
11/9/2008 10:46:02 am

hey lisa,
because of my health problems I am trying to find ways to help my thyroid naturally and switch more to organic and stuff...
do you have any tips, good websites, etc?
Thanks!
tarena

Reply
tarena
11/19/2008 12:42:23 pm

also if you have any money saving tips while eating better, thanks!

Reply



Leave a Reply.