Yep...they're all tomato plants...anyone want some? Last year it was so fun to watch Josiah harvesting the cherry tomatoes...he ate them all....even the green ones! It's kind of nice knowing that they won't go to waste, but I wonder what the potential side effects of too many tomatoes are....anyone? The other challenge is finding the space to put them....I have a feeling that our coming soon raised beds will fill up fast!


Here's a happy little container recipe for you....mostly all just greenery, one with flowers, just because I'm trying to broaden my tastes.

- the purple one with green edges is coleus.....there are so many varieties of coleus....it's variegated foliage is fun to add to containers.
- to the left of that is a taller variegated leafed 'licorice splash'...
- the grassy thing in the middle is something that was multiplying in another part of the garden so I took a bunch out to put in baskets....It looks proportionate now, but I'm concerned that the other plants will overshadow it later in the summer....it doesn't get very big....Sorry, I don't remember the name...
- the one in the front is a 'lotus' (berthelotii) and it will trail down the front of the container, with spiky red flowers

We'll see how this does throughout the summer....in the past the slugs have voraciously attacked my coleus, so I'm hoping that they won't find it so quickly on my front porch!


This is a happy little variegated boxleaf euonymus  that I found for $5 at Walmart...I'm going to try my hand at pruning it to maintain a compact rounded shape...and I've seen them as topiaries...which look really nice...we'll see!

Tenisha
5/10/2008 08:20:48 am

wow! They are so big! Didn't you plant yours after me? Only the cherry tomatoes are growing and they are just long and spindly looking, they don't look as good as yours. Carmen is planning a garden this year too...maybe she'll want some plants...:O)

Reply
tarena
5/10/2008 02:44:06 pm

I love tomatoes! I wish I could plant some...even if I had them in a container my kids would eat them all like your little man did and I wouldn't a single one! =) Maybe when they are a bit older!

Reply



Leave a Reply.