Tarena was asking for some ideas on how to eat healthy and save money on the grocery bill at the same time. There are lots of ways we do as a family, but a fellow blogger has put together a series on this subject...and was very thorough in the matter. So at the risk of sounding redundant or copycat, I'll lead you to her site and hope that she satisfies your curiosity.
Check out her site here, and then under her list of categories, click on Frugality. There's lots of great blogs here, but also look for Frugality with Food Revisited Parts 1 and 2, Frugal Cooking Carnival, Cost-per-Serving Dinner Menus, and Rising to the Challenge of Higher Grocery Costs.
Enjoy....and may you have lots of inspiration!!

tarena
12/16/2008 01:57:27 pm

oh, yea! Thank you! I can't wait to go to the site and check it out!
Just today I was telling myself that I just HAVE to figure out how to do both! I can't give up...this is too important for my health. At the health store today I got lots of basic ingrediants to make things from scratch. Good thing I love to cook/bake so much-it will come in handy to save some $$!
Thanks lisa!
Hope you are doing well! So excited for you!

Reply
Amy
12/18/2008 09:45:32 am

Here's a really good quote I found on that blog:
"One of the things I learned from my parents' example was not to waste. When God said that He would provide all of our needs, He didn't say that it would be done in the way we wanted, at the time that we wanted. Being willing to work hard and sacrifice leisure time in order to accept His blessings is something I still work on being disciplined about.

Did I need the extra tomatoes right now? No, I didn't. But what if next year's need was being supplied right now -- and I refused it? How can we throw away food today and yet expect tomorrow's needs to be supplied? "

Reply



Leave a Reply.