I've avoided baking the majority of our marriage.  I'm intimidated by it. When my hubby gets desperate he just makes his own.(very delicious, I might add) But there's those odd moments of inspiration I have....and today was one of them.  I was on a mission to bake a yummy cookie with nice texture, dark chocolate, and some healthy additives.  Result? Take a look....


First I googled "best chocolate chip cookie recipe", then I printed it out, and followed it to the 'T' (except that I doubled it)  Then I started throwing in this and that and "what if..."
So here it is:
Chocolate Chip Granola Cookies
Ingredients:
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 t. baking soda
1 t. salt
2 sticks cold unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
1 cup sugar
1 cup tightly packed light brown sugar
3 t. vanilla extract
2 large eggs, at room temperature, lightly beaten
1, 12oz. bag of Ghirardelli dark chocolate chips

1 cup oatmeal
½ cup wheat germ
Almost 2 cups combined of raw nuts: chopped almonds, chopped cashews, flax seeds, pumpkin seeds, sesame seeds, sunflower seeds, and chopped pecans.
A couple squirts of flax seed oil
Optional: 1 cup raisins or dried cranberries

1) Sift together the flour, baking soda, and salt into a medium bowl, then add the wheat germ, and set aside.

2) Using a standing mixer fitted with a paddle attachment or a hand mixer, cream the butter and sugars on low speed until it is smooth and lump free, about 3 minutes. Stop the mixer and scrape down the sides of the bowl and the paddle.

3) Add the vanilla and eggs and beat on low speed for 15 seconds, or until fully incorporated. Do not overbeat. Stop the machine and scrape down the sides of the bowl and the paddle.

4) On low speed, add the flour mixture. Beat until just incorporated. Scrape down the sides of the bowl. Add the chocolate chips, mixed nuts, oatmeal, raisins and flax seed oil, and mix until they are just incorporated. If using a hand mixer, use a wooden spoon to stir them in. Refrigerate dough for at least an hour.

5) Preheat oven to 350. Adjust racks to lower and upper thirds of the oven. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper or Silpats. Spoon the dough using a cookie scooper 2 inches apart onto the prepared baking sheets. (makes about 60 1.5-inch round cookies)

6) Bake for 11-13 minutes or until golden brown around the edges.

Remove the sheet from the oven and carefully slide the parchment or Silpats directly onto a work surface. When cookies are set, remove them to a cooling rack. Wait at least 5 minutes before serving or 20 minutes before storing in an airtight container for up to 3 days at room temperature.
ENJOY!

 

Cass
11/27/2007 11:46:07 am

Kudos to you, Lisa, for baking!!! They look de-lish!!

I love that you're taking photos of the simple things in life too, not just family photos. {Though of course I love the funny and very cute photos of your munchkins.) You are becoming a true blogger...!

Reply
Your Hubby
11/27/2007 12:07:23 pm

I just have to say that all I've had for dinner so far tonight have been these scrumptious chocolate, oatmeal, nutty cookies. I'm loving it! Way to go Babes! Keep the sweets coming my way!

Reply
Camee
11/28/2007 01:43:02 pm

Ummmmm... can I have one?

Reply
Mom
12/11/2007 07:10:52 am

Great baking Lisa!

I love to see how you are trying new things. Your family is blessed.

Reply
1/12/2010 04:10:39 am

I was looking online for a good chocolate chip cookie recipe and I found yours and I’m so glad I did, they are fabulous! I am so glad you shared this recipe my family absolutely loves them. Baking can sometimes be intimidating but once you start to see all the fun and yummy things there are to bake, it’s hard to stop. I know find myself watching the food network station just looking for new and unique recipes.

Reply



Leave a Reply.