I made the homemade deodorant a couple days ago...while watching a show online....I just put 1/4 cup of baking soda and 1/4 cup arrowroot into a bowl, then I mixed in a couple spoonfuls of coconut oil. I kept mixing and mixing the oil into the powder mixture and the oil soon softened and mixed to a goopy texture. It was liquidy enough to pour into an old deodorant container, and then it hardened by the time our show was over. Brent laughed at me when I told him I was making deodorant from this powdered mixture I got from my kitchen cupboards...until he felt/saw the final product in it's container...I got a "wow"...which meant that it looked like the real thing! So far I've used it for several days and have liked it a lot. It softens pretty quick when I apply it, so it's easy to put on, though sometimes too much comes off if i roll it down too far. Aside from the initial coconut smell, I have not noticed any body odor! I'm going to put it to the test though....
It felt really good to make it knowing what's in it....so give it a try during one of your favorite shows....it's worth your time!
Tenisha made it too, and gives a good report so far, right T?

4/3/2008 11:52:17 am

very cool! what is the ultimate test? a good workout?? you'll have to let us know how it works under your test! =)

Reply
Tenisha
4/3/2008 02:43:24 pm

yep! Still love it!! I used cornstarch instead of arrowroot, and it's in a tupperware dish right now.

Reply
Tenisha
4/16/2008 12:25:14 pm

how did yours do in the heat? Not that 70 is hot, but it is the 'melting point' for the oil...mine melted and rehardened in the tupperware. It's a little harder to get out, but if it were in a deoderant container I think it'd be a nice consistency. I think this summer I'll have to store it in the fridge to keep it hard...I don't think I'll take it camping since it will likely turn to liquid. I'm going to use it during moving this weekend though, that should put it to the test! :O)

Reply



Leave a Reply.