That would be my toes...I realized in the shower the other day that I can now see them again...

While I was at Costco this Tuesday night, Daddy reported upon my return that Josiah attempted to breastfeed Gracie's bear...and insisted that he did indeed have breasts..."they're right here!"...he was rather disappointed to find out that those were merely "nipples"..."Nipples?"...that's a new word for the vocabulary. Oh dear...

Nursing is quite the favorite pastime around here...the kids could be in the room farthest away from me, but when I sit down to nurse, it seems like they can sense it. They like to lean in, "help me", and sit on every other part of my body...my midwife says that the sounds of the other kids will "soothe" the baby...right now I think that's stretching it just a bit.

This was my first week alone with all three wee ones. The first week I had my mom and Brent, and last week Josiah and Grace were with the in-laws.
Last week seemed like a dream...I was oblivious to a clock, and got to stare at my baby's face for hours...I am so smitten...and since this is #3, I feel so much more relaxed and natural in caring for him...it seems so easy. (quite unlike when Josiah was born) I am so thankful for that precious time to bond with Elijah.
This week hasn't been too bad...perhaps because baby sleeps so much? I was anticipating a much harder road. Elijah has been sleeping for a good five hour stretch and another 3 hour stretch, so that's kind of like getting 8 hours, right?

Right now if you were to ask me if I want to have any more more children, my answer would be "yes, yes, yes!"...(please do not necessarily interpret that as "three" more children)...perhaps we should wait a bit to see if that sticks once #3 starts to disobey.

Right now I think I'm floating on new mommy cloud 9...  "Sigh"...=)

Janel
3/3/2009 04:56:10 am

Hey Lisa,

I'm glad you are enjoying your new little guy.... that's awesome that you got all that help so you could bond with him!! Sounds like the nursing is going better. I've got a few nursing stories with Isaac and Fionna too.... love it.

Hugs.... Janel

Reply
Cass
3/3/2009 09:16:19 am

I'm so glad to hear you're ENJOYING all three and didn't feel too overwhelmed that first week alone. So glad that Elijah is a good sleeper! --- my wish for any future babies of ours, as Henry was never that sleepy newborn I just assumed everyone had!
Keep up with the updates and the photos ... we're all eager to see and hear ...

xo.
c

Reply



Leave a Reply.