Yep, it's a turkey carcass, and it smells soooo good.  I volunteered to de-bone the turkey from our family dinner if I could take home the bones for soup.  I've got two pots on at the same time.  I'll strain them, and stick 'em in the fridge overnight so I can skim off the fat.  It gives me secret pleasures to see the leftover gelatinous goodness still in the pot waiting to become a complete soup. You want to know the secret ingredient in my favorite stock?  Leeks....they add a yummy, oniony depth that just oozes homemade.  Ok, so it's not so secret, but it's a staple stock ingredient in our house.
The finished turkey soup product won't be finished until tomorrow, so until then we all have to drool and pretend that what we're really having for supper tastes as good as that soup smells!


Tenisha
11/25/2007 11:35:30 am

as we were throwing away our turkey carcass I said.."if I were as cool as Lisa I'd take the time to make this into soup..." For real!! Before I even knew you had blogged about it!!! I bet it turned out great!!

Reply
Camee
11/25/2007 02:33:57 pm

My dad was throwing out the carcass and I said, "No, wait Dad! We can make soup with that! (He wasn't too impressed with that as he's not much of a turkey soup fan, by my mom and I are.) So he saved it for me, but my problem is what to do now. You know me - I'll bake, YOU cook. So, my kitchen-saavy friend, what exactly do I do? (Yes, I'd rather ask you than simply go look in a cookbook. You're more fun! And I'm sure a lot yummier.) Could you leak me the entire leaky leak recipe? I love you and miss cooking with you... and eating what you cook! And hey - I've got a great recipe for some chocolate turkey brownies I could send you... Just kidding. : ) HUGS!

Reply
joey
11/26/2007 12:47:32 am

oh lisa, you have no idea how much i miss cooking with you, my mom has promised me that we will have pozole and tortillas for christmas eve dinner and i got so excited. that soup looks heavenly, you have a lucky lucky family with cooking like that! te quiero mucho, joey

Reply



Leave a Reply.