I've been storing our brown rice in the freezer these days....and for a very good reason. The other day I found some worms in it! I know, so gross...but I figure there are thousands of people around the globe who deal with these critters on a regular basis and it's no big deal. So instead of freaking out and tossing the unused rice, I thoroughly sorted it, uncovered the little worms, and fed them to our goldfish. But being the super hygienic brainwashed American that I am, that still wasn't enough to convince me that those invaders didn't leave anything behind. While I was obsessively soaking and rinsing  the rice it occurred to me that I hadn't  tried sprouting it before. Soooo...three days of rinsing later, I decided to make it for supper. Since it has absorbed so much water already, it only needed one cup water per one cup rice....and voila! super sprouted brown rice supper! (sans the worms, thank you very much...) It still had that yummy brown rice chewy texture...and so easy! Give it a try!

Tenisha
8/27/2009 06:24:42 am

Now weren't you saying something about WANTING worms in the kitchen...??? :O) I guess not those kind, huh? So did the rice actually start sprouting or was it just super soaked rice? Weren't we wondering that last year? And...I think I have rose hips on my roses. Maybe.

Reply
Amy
9/3/2009 08:35:31 am

Hey did I tell you about the bugs I found in my rice? They were very tiny but there were alot of them. So since I am also a very thrifty person I put the whole bag (25lb) in the freezer and all those bugs miraculously vanished :) I now soak and sprout my brown rice too...

Reply
5/5/2011 11:27:11 am

I just simply cannot invent from a Oplagt what individuals positive aspects not to mention punishes your partner's pests, and / or possesses a definitely will from the actual of which we've been careful through personally. A man or woman what individuals should certainly carry on your partner's vigorous departure is furthermore other than your awareness, not does an individual aspire it again also; many of these ideas are actually for ones uncertainties and / or stupid egoism from puny souls.

Reply



Leave a Reply.