Here's a review of some of the healthy staples that reside in our kitchen...my favorites!

My mom introduced me to this salt, and I've been hooked ever since. I traded in my ordinary table salt for this mineral-rich version. From the back label..."Unlike most table salts, RealSalt is not bleached, kiln dried, heated, or altered with chemicals or pollutants. It also has a full complement of beneficial trace minerals, with nothing added."  I read a book called "Sugar Blues" by William Duffy (thanks to your mom, Joanna!) and it mentioned that many varieties of table salt sneak in dextrose (sugar!) and other goodies to keep the salt from clumping...watch out! Now aren't you curious about yours...go check!  But you'll have to watch out for the RealSalt at my house too....I have been known to mix in kelp granules for an extra nutritional boost! Next time you come over I'll bet you won't be able to tell... =)


This highly saturated fat has had such a poor and incorrect reputation for years, but unrefined (extra) virgin "coconut oil is rich in lauric acid (also present in mother's milk) which has strong antifungal and antimicrobial properties. It builds the immune system and protects against viruses, yeasts, parasites, and other pathogens in the gut. Research has shown that coconut oil, like butter, promotes normal brain development, is less likely to cause weight gain than polyunsaturated oils, contributes to strong bones and has anticarcinogenic effects." (excerpts taken from Nourishing Traditions)
Having said all that, I know there will be those of you out there who have known me for years and have to laugh at me upon hearing that I'm lauding the praises of coconut! True, I never dreamed that I would be voluntarily consuming it in any way, shape, or form....so Ha! on me! It just goes to show that no one is beyond change....just don't get any crazy ideas about slipping my some of that chewy, yucky, coconut flesh! But this stuff I use for nearly everything...baking (mix with or replace butter), plain on toast (or mixed with honey butter blend), smoothies, cooking, body oil, homemade deodorant (on my list of to do's), and more!


One of my pet peeves (I know, I'm quirky) is trying to find a boullion that doesn't have MSG, hydrolized or isolated soy protein, or dextrose (to name a few...). So when I found this brand, I was rather excited. This fun little jar is used nearly every day at our house. It adds just that little dab of depth to many a Rollins 'recipe' (my hubby makes fun of me because I hardly use one)  It's kind of spendy, but I found mine for a great deal and bought a few. If you can find it, but the organic one, because the others have additional unnecessary additives. Another super brand for boullion is "Rapunzel"...


RAW HONEY! On my trip to Wyoming, I found a reasonable source for raw honey and brought this baby home with me (they made me check it as baggage!). It's so raw that there are "flecks of bee" in it! =) Why raw? It isn't cooked at all and thus retains a high enzyme content (enzymes are deactivated at 118' wet heat, and 150' dry heat). When I purchased this honey, the lady said she has people calling all the time requesting raw because their naturopath prescribed it for their allergies! I scoop out a small amount into a jam jar for the shelf, and keep the rest tucked away in the pantry. This was a great deal buying directly from the source...but here's another fabulous raw honey product (my mom served this to me with fresh lemon juice as a tea...SO good and therapeutic! Thanks, ma!)


This is the brand "Rapunzel"...and this is unrefined and unbleached sugar.  It's filtered, dried, and sieve ground- thus not separated from the molasses at all. So if you're going to use sugar, this is the most natural way to go, as all the nutrients aren't stripped from it! Don't get me started on sugar...it's one of those things that we (ok, I) try to avoid, but is virtually impossible and somewhat impractical as a wife (of a sweet toothed man) and mama to completely eliminate it from our diet. SO we use this, natural sugars (honey, maple syrup, agave, stevia, etc.), and yes, on occasion, I bake with evaporated cane juice* (sugar, but less refined) for my family (husband). =) Oh yeah...and we also use *ecj in our homemade ice cream...and granita...and....=)


I'd love to hear what your favorite staples are...

Joanna
3/29/2008 11:21:18 am

My mom has been trying to get me to read that for years! I really should one of these days. And yes on the Agave, my mom sends Leo and me tons of it, we put it on oatmeal, with a little peanut butter and some raisins. SOOOOO good. (that is what we eat for breakfast, a variation on most staple dorm food)

Reply
3/29/2008 01:56:13 pm

This is all so interesting to me Lisa! I have always been interested in natural foods (mostly because I have thyroid problems and so far no one that I have gone to has helpd me learn how to treat it naturally....even a natropatic doctor!) I can't wait to see more post on stuff like this!
Also, is it very expensive to choose more natual foods/ ingrediants? I have always thought it would be, but don't really know.
Thanks!
tarena

Reply
Cass
3/30/2008 06:09:52 am

You're a woman after my Mum's own heart! Such conversations you two would have!
Soooo glad you're enjoying these pursuits and this very healthy way of taking care of your family.
luv you.

Reply
3/30/2008 01:55:24 pm

Joanna,
That does sound yummy...you'll have to tell your mom that I've passed her book on to a few other curious friends! She's started something!
Tarena,
I don't know much about thyroid problems...I'm sure every naturopath has different methods of treating that. It can be more expensive to choose more natural foods, unless you make them yourself...I'll try to gather some ideas for a post about it!
Cassie Wray,
I would love to sit down and chat with your mom...she could teach me a thing or two...she grinds her own grain, right? Wow...

Reply



Leave a Reply.