We've been seeing a lot of this around our house lately.....the look of the impending whine.  The "trying twos" stage has landed and we are in full swing. Sometimes I feel like all I'm doing with my time is discipline. It's exhausting and I'm constantly asking for wisdom/doubting myself and the way I've handled a situation. But just when it seems like it can't get any worse, we have one of those really special moments that reaffirms..."yes, you can go on". Like this morning....the kitchen was full of dishes, the house was still dark and the lights of our tree were lit.....I plopped on the floor, and a little boy climbed into my lap. "Get sister, mommy, let's look at the lights together."  My squiggle worm daughter sat still in my lap next to her brother and reached up to touch his face...he didn't pull away or say "No touch, Gracie", we just sat there cuddled under his blankie together. I caught a glimpse of our reflection in one of the shiny balls dangling just above us and wished that this moment could be perfectly etched in my memory in all its warm fuzziness.  I heard my mind repeating "remember this, remember this, remember this" and  that yes, these two really are mine.  Perspective....that "this too (two) shall pass", but so will these sweet times....cherish them.


Camee
12/20/2007 02:05:38 pm

You made me cry!!! I LOVE special moments like that. I'm so happy for you to have had that beautiful moment with your precious blessings. Hugs to ALL of you. : )

Reply



Leave a Reply.